The KEK is made up of

  1. six experts in broadcasting and commercial law, three of whom must be qualified to serve in the judicial office, and
  2. six legal representatives, as determined by national law, of the Media Authorities.

The experts and two substitute members, in the event of elimination of one of the above mention members, shall be appointed by common accord of the Prime Ministers of the States for a term of five years. The six Media Authorities’ representatives and two substitute members in the event of elimination are elected by the Media Authorities for the tenure of the KEK. The KEK members are not subject to directives in the performance of their duties.

The KEK passes its rulings with the majority vote of its legal members. If there is a tie, the vote of the chairman is decisive. If the chairman is unavailable, the vice-chairman's vote is decisive.


  • Georgios Gounalakis

    Prof. Dr. Georgios Gounalakis

    KEK Chairman

  • Insa Sjurts

    Prof. Dr. Insa Sjurts


  • Wilhelm Althammer

    Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Althammer

  • Anne Paschke

    Prof. Dr. Anne Paschke

  • Christian von Coelln

    Prof. Dr. Christian von Coelln

  • Ralf Müller-Terpitz

    Prof. Dr. Ralf Müller-Terpitz

Substitute Members

  • Rupprecht Podszun

    Prof. Dr. Rupprecht Podszun

  • Simone Schelberg

    Dr. Simone Schelberg

Media Authority Representatives

  • Christian Krebs

    Prof. Christian Krebs LL.M.

    Director of the Media Authority of Lower Saxony

  • Markus Heinker

    Prof. Dr. Markus Heinker

    Director of the Media Authority of Saxony

  • Thorsten Schmiege

    Dr. Thorsten Schmiege

    Director of the Media Authority of Bavaria

  • Dr. Eva Flecken

    Dr. Eva Flecken

    Director of the Media Authority of Berlin and Brandenburg

  • Ruth Meyer

    Ruth Meyer

    Director of the Media Authority of the Saarland

Substitute Members

  • Wolfgang Kreißig

    Dr. Wolfgang Kreißig

    Director of the Media Authority of Baden-Wuerttemberg